Understanding authorizations

PhotoDeck offers a very flexible way to control who can access your galleries, and who can download "for free".

To open the authorization panel for a gallery, click on the link above the thumbnails that indicates whether the gallery is public or private (by default for public galleries, "public, visible").

The authorizations table

The first row (Anyone) applies to anybody who is not specifically listed on another row. When you add authorizations for a specific client, the Anyone row applies to everybody except that client (and others previously listed).

You can add authorizations for specific clients. They will need to login to be identified. You can add an authorization even for clients who have not registered on your website yet: they will gain access once they register with the same email address you have specified.

We recommend you don't use on the same gallery both a general password and client-specific login access. While it is possible, it can be confusing for your customers.

Can enter gallery indicates whether access to the gallery (seeing its content) it allowed. For Anybody, you can optionally indicate a password: anyone knowing the password, logged in or not, will then gain access to the gallery.

Low-res download indicates whether a button is displayed to easily download preview images. The preview images are 800x800px, and are watermarked if you used a watermark upon initial upload. Note that savvy users will always be able to extract the preview images displayed on your site, whether you enable this or not, via a screen capture or other means. So this feature is really for your clients convenience, and you must make sure that you have a proper watermark in place if preview theft is a concern.

Originals download indicates whether FREE download of the originals is allowed. The originals are the very same files you have initially uploaded, without any modification. This column has additional options: 1-click download makes it very easy for clients to immediately download files. 1-click download, FINALS only only allows immediate download for images/videos which state is FINAL (the state of a file is part of its editable metadata). Via cart requires the client to submit an order, which will give you the opportunity to retouch/replace images before they are delivered for files that are not in the FINAL state.

When original downloads are enabled, a "Download all" button is displayed if the gallery contains less than 500 images.

Originals downloads are meant to deliver files to assignment clients. They bypass any download pricing profile you might have attached to the images/videos in the gallery!

Authorizing a new client

To give access to the gallery and/or to download capabilities to a specific client, click Add authorizations and enter the client's email address. You can add a client's email address even if he is not registered on your website yet. Tick the boxes corresponding to the access rights you wish to provide him.

Optionally, you can also click the Notify checkbox: when you save the new authorizations, this will send the client an email with a link to the gallery (and an invitation to register if he doesn't have an account yet). Try it yourself, using a different email address of yours as a dummy client!

Subgalleries automatically inherit from their parent...

... except if they define authorizations of their own.

For clarity and to avoid errors, if you set new authorizations for a subgallery, it will NOT inherit authorizations from its parents anymore, so you need to define all authorizations for that subgallery.

If you want a gallery to inherit from the same authorizations as its parent gallery, simply make sure you remove all its authorizations.